Mazda Motorsports Announces Drivers Eligible for Mazda Road to 24 Shootout
 November 1, 2019| 
  • Series News


IRVINE, Calif. (October 31, 2019) –Mazda Motorsports has unveiled the list of drivers nominated for the 2019 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout.

The Shootout, scheduled for December 3-4 at the Michelin Laurens Proving Grounds in Mountville, South Carolina, will award the winner with a $100,000 scholarship to compete in the 2020 Battery Tender® Global Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires. The winner’s car will carry the Mazda’s Soul Red Crystal on their Global MX-5 Cup car throughout the 2020 season.

Winning a club racing championship while driving a Mazda or Mazda-powered car is the primary way to be nominated for the Mazda Road to 24 Shootout, while At-Large nominees are also considered. Nominated drivers will submit a written and video proposal from which the finalists will be selected for the one-day Shootout.

The 2018 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout winner, Michael Carter, captured the Global Mazda MX-5 Cup Rookie of the Year championship and finished a strong fourth in the overall championship.

Nominees for 2019 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout

Tray Ayres

SCCA Prototype 2 National Champion

Rhett Barkau

SCCA Formula Enterprises 2 National Champion

Todd Buras

SCCA Spec Miata National Champion

Justin Casey

NASA Spec Miata (At-Large)

Brandon Colllins

Autobahn Spec Miata (At-Large)

Bryce Cornet

2018 SCCA FM National Champion (At-Large)

Konrad Czaczyk

SCCA Spec Miata (At-Large)

Jeff Dernehl

SCCA GT3 National Champion

Matthew Dirks

NASA Teen Mazda Challenge (At-Large)

Jim Drago

NASA Spec Miata National Champion

Roy Fulmer IV

NASA Northern California Teen Mazda Challenge

Hannah Grisham

NASA Southern California Teen Mazda Challenge

Alex Hainer

Porsche Owners Club (At-Large)

John Hainsworth

SCCA E-Production (At-Large)

Aaron Jeansonne

Team USA Scholarship (At-Large)

Flinn Lazier

SCCA Formula Enterprises (At-Large)

Savannah Little

NASA Spec Miata, Global Time Attack (At-Large)

Preston Pardus

SCCA Spec Miata (At-Large)

Karla Pestotnik

NASA Western Endurance Racing Championship (At-Large)

Jason Pettit

Formula Car Challenge Formula S Champion

Eric Prill

SCCA F Production National Champion

John Purcell

Formula Car Challenge Pro Formula Mazda Champion

Tyler Quance

NASA / SCCA Spec Miata (At-Large)

Matt Reynolds

SCCA E-Production (At-Large)

Alex Scaler

F1600 (At-Large)

Todd Slusher

SCCA Prototype 1 National Champion

Danny Steyn

SCCA Super Touring Lite National Champion

Jared Thomas

NASA / SCCA Spec Miata, Mini 500 winner (At-Large)

Bill Weaver

Formula Car Challenge – Formula Mazda Champion


Mazda Motorsports boasts the most comprehensive auto racing development ladder system of any auto manufacturer in the world. The Mazda Road to 24 (#MRT24) program offers a number of scholarships to advance drivers up the sports car racing ladder, beginning with the Global MX-5 Cup series and culminating with Mazda Team Joest. In grassroots road racing, more Mazdas race on any given weekend in North America than any other manufacturer. Follow all of the latest news at, @MazdaRacing on Twitter, and Mazda Motorsports on Instagram and Facebook.

Mazda North American Operations is headquartered in Irvine, California, and oversees the sales, marketing, parts and customer service support of Mazda vehicles in the United States and Mexico through approximately 620 dealers. Operations in Mexico are managed by Mazda Motor de Mexico in Mexico City. For more information on Mazda vehicles, including photography and B-roll, please visit the online Mazda media center at

Follow MNAO’s social media channels through Twitter and Instagram at @MazdaUSA and Facebook at


  • 24-MX5-MOH-Race2
    • Series News
  • 24-MX5-MOH-Race1
    • Series News
  • 24-MX5-MOH-Qual
    • Series News
  • 24-MX5-MOH-Practice
    • Series News
  • 24-MX5-MOH-Preview
    • Series News