The Series
  • 20-MX5-JTR-NunesHeader
    • Team News
  • 20-MX5-Shootout-WinHeader
    • Series News
  • 20-MX5-Shootout-Preview-Header
    • Series News
  • 20-MX5-Provision-Header
    • Team News
  • 20-MX5-Hixon-Header
    • Team News
Global Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires

About MX-5 Cup

The Global Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires® is the signature spec series for the Mazda Road to 24 (#MRT24). The MX-5 Cup champion earns a $200,000 scholarship.

The MX-5 Cup race cars start as complete MX-5 road cars from the Mazda Hiroshima, Japan factory before being transported to engineering development partner Flis Performance in Daytona Beach, Florida, where they are transformed into a race car. The process includes disassembly of the production car, welding and paint of a full roll cage and interior, and adding more than 250 motorsports-specific parts. Other components of the car, including the Mazda SKYACTIV 2.0 liter engine are sealed to ensure even competition and a cost-effective platform.

Information on the car is online at


1/2 July 23 - 24

Alana Long 100 at Road America

4.048-mile road course*


September 3 - 4

Indianapolis Motor Speedway

2.439-mile road course*

5/6 September 11 - 12

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

2.258-mile road course*
7/8 September 25 - 26

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

2.258-mile road course*

9/10 October 9 - 11

New Jersey Motorsports Park

2.25-mile road course*

11/12 October 23 - 25

Grand Prix of St. Petersburg

1.8-mile temporary street circuit*

* Doubleheader Rounds


The Mazda Global MX-5 Cup car is a purpose-built race car from 2018 / 2019 Mazda MX-5 known as the “ND” or fourth generation Miata.  All cars are built from white, Club trim level new cars exclusively by Flis Performance in Daytona Beach, Florida.  (

The car is completely disassembled, tub is cleaned of seam sealer and sound deadening material, an IMSA, INDYCAR, and SCCA approved roll cage is TIG welded into the car.  The cage contains complete NASCAR-style door bars on both sides of the car (making it the ultimate HPDE driver / instructor car) and is tied together across the firewall through the interior of the dash leaving a neat appearing and fully functional dash.  After roll cage completion, the cage and tub of the car are painted in an automotive paint booth.

After cage installation and paint, the car is assembled with over 250 race car-specific parts.  The parts added to the car provide handling, endurance, safety and power enhancement specifically designed for the car after hundreds of hours and thousands of miles of both on-track and lab testing by automotive mechanical engineers and professional race car drivers.  Component sealing and authentication tracking is done for parity in the various racing series in which the car competes.

For more information on purchasing new cars, contact Flis Performance at 386-256-7021 or by email.



BFGoodrich g-Force™ 215/610 - 17 racing slicks


Per race, for both driver and team championships. One bonus point is awarded for pole position, most laps led and fastest race lap. Single car teams will be awarded three bonus points in the team championship to help with the equality to multiple car teams. Only the two best results will count in the team championship for teams fielding more than two entries.

Pos Points   Pos Points   Pos Points
1 30   10 11   19 2
2 25   11 10   20 1
3 22   12 9      
4 19   13 8      
5 17   14 7      
6 15   15 6      
7 14   16 5      
8 13   17 4      
9 12   18 3      

Global Mazda MX-5 Cup CHAMPIONS

2019  Bryan Ortiz  ND2 
2019   John Dean II ND1 
2018  Nikko Reger   
2017 Patrick Gallagher  
2016 Nathanial Sparks  
2015 John Dean II

2014 Kenton Koch

2013 Christian Szymczak  
2012 Stevan McAleer  
2011 Mike Cooper  
2010 Brad Rampelberg  
2009 Todd Lamb  
2008 Eric Foss  
2007 Jason Saini  

Jim Daniels